The GoTriangle Board of Trustees relies heavily upon its committees to review and make recommendations on issues to the full board. The officers of the board serve as the committee chairs. All meetings are open to the public. Unless otherwise noted, meetings are held at the GoTriangle Administrative Office located at 4600 Emperor Blvd. Durham, NC 27703. A virtual option will be offered for meetings.

Personnel Committee

The Personnel Committee handles personnel matters related to the president and CEO, General Counsel and the Clerk to the Board, as well as general personnel matters that might arise. Brenda Howerton chairs the committee, and members are Sig Hutchinson, Vivian Jones and Michael Parker.

Planning and Legislative Committee

The Planning and Legislative Committee (P&L) oversees the agency's activities related to corridor and regional transit planning as well as land use, agency goals and intergovernmental relations. The committee also identifies and prioritizes the board’s expectations for GoTriangle’s communications strategy. The committee meets the fourth (4th) Wednesday of each month from 10:30 to 11:45 a.m. Vivian Jones chairs the committee, and members are Mary-Ann Baldwin, Michael Fox, Sally Greene, Patrick Hannah and Elaine O’Neal.

Operations and Finance Committee

The Operations and Finance Committee (O&F) is responsible for the annual budget and audit as well as other finance and accounting matters. O&F also handles issues related to service — including planning, routes, fares, marketing and ridesharing. Additionally, this committee hears items involving facility design, the Special Tax Board, short-range planning, system start-up, by-laws, contracts and employee benefits. The committee meets virtually the first (1st) Thursday of each month from 8:30 to 10:00 a.m. Michael Parker chairs the committee, and members are Corey Branch, Brenda Howerton, Sig Hutchinson, Valerie Jordan and Jennifer Robinson.

Other Appointments

*Only the most recent set of minutes for monthly board meetings are online. For other minutes, please contact the Clerk to the Board.

Special Tax Board

The Special Tax Board consists of two members appointed from the Boards of County Commissioners of Durham, Orange and Wake counties. The current members include Nimasheena Burns and Brenda Howerton from the Durham County Board of County Commissioners; Amy Fowler and Earl McKee from the Orange County Board of County Commissioners; and Matt Calabria and Susan Evans from the Wake County Board of County Commissioners.

The Special Tax Board meets in January each year to elect officers; additional meetings may be called.  The Special Tax Board will meet in January 2024. The agenda and the virtual meeting link will be published on the Board of Trustees page, under the upcoming meetings section.

Transit Advisory Committee

The GoTriangle Transit Advisory Committee (TAC) was established in October of 2017 and is made up of 30 Triangle residents, with 14 from Wake County, nine from Durham County and seven from Orange County. Together, the committee helps to ensure that the GoTriangle Board of Trustees is informed of community issues associated with providing a high-quality transit network that serves the needs of our entire region by:

  • Providing advice and feedback to the board during planning for public transportation systems.
  • Offering views of constituent groups.
  • Suggesting how transit can assist with equity issues, such as homelessness, affordable housing, economic opportunity and living with disabilities.
  • Providing information regarding the customer experience of transit riders.
  • Communicating stakeholder opinions, attitudes and needs to the board, identifying areas of concern and recommending changes